• I hope you will forgive me if I make a heartfelt plea right at the start: this is an emotive topic for some and this thread is started as a genuine request for discussion and a prompt for thought and the testing of assumptions and hypotheses. May we keep this an acrimony and prejudice free zone. 

My recent threads have been designed to penetrate the heart of this topic: I have discussed and back tested random entries at some length, I have queried the use of back testing and I have tried to explain why, over the past 40 years, trend following seems to have become increasingly difficult. 

Next, as all who have read the meanderings I have put out over the past decade will know, I am an arts graduate. My lamentably poor “skills” in mathematics come from ill learnt lessons at school at an early age; my almost non existent knowledge of statistics comes from a few rapidly read and poorly understood books glanced at over the past decade. So, I look for advice and guidance here and do not seek to give it. 

Professor Tom Gastaldi holds that trend following is a dangerous illusion:  A “single threaded” strategy conceived by those “deceiving themselves by believing that the market data is giving out "entry signals". While in the grand scheme of things they are just making random entries.” Tom goes on to say: “The appearance of profitability is most often just curve fitting. In reality, in those cases, PNL is mostly oscillating around 0 (even though with large variance, large enough to create both dreams and defeats.)” 

I responded: “You can't really describe random entries as a single threaded strategy I don't think. And in reality not many people design a single threaded strategy do they? Or is the very nature of trend following (running profits and cutting losses) "single threaded"? In your view?”